Owned by the Margaret Chase Smith Foundation and operated under its auspices by the University of Maine.


1897Born December 14 to Carrie Murray and George Emery Chase in Skowhegan, Maine.
1916 Graduates from Skowhegan High School.
1916-17Teaches for twenty-eight weeks in the one-room Pitts School in Skowhegan.
1918Works as a telephone operator for Maine Telephone and Telegraph Company.
1919-27Works for the Independent Reporter, a weekly Skowhegan newspaper.
1922Organizes Skowhegan chapter of Business and Professional Women's Club (BPW).
1923Serves as President of Maine Federation of BPW.
1928Works as office manager for Cummings woolen mill in Skowhegan.
1930Marries Clyde H. Smith on May 14.
1930-36Serves as a member of the Maine Republican State Committee.
1937-40Works as secretary for Congressman Clyde Smith.
1940Wins election to the House of Representatives following the death of her husband.
1944Inspects South Pacific military bases as a member of the House Naval Affairs Committee's Subcommittee on Congested Areas.
1945Introduces legislation granting permanent status for women in the armed forces. Cosponsors the Equal Rights Amendment.
1948Wins election to the Senate.
1949-54Writes syndicated national newspaper column, Washington and You.
1950Delivers "Declaration of Conscience" speech.
1954-55Visits with the heads of state in twenty-three nations on a world tour.
1955Hosts President Eisenhower during his visit to Skowhegan.
1956Debates Eleanor Roosevelt during presidential campaign on Face the Nation.
1960Defeats Lucia Cormier for re-election to the Senate. This marks the first campaign in which two women oppose one another for a Senate seat.
1963Casts vote in opposition to President John F. Kennedy's Limited Nuclear Test Ban Treaty.
1964Runs in Republican presidential primaries. Takes candidacy all the way to the Republican National Convention in San Francisco.
1966Wins fourth term in the Senate.
1968Undergoes hip surgery and misses first vote in Congress in thirteen years. At the time, she holds the record for consecutive roll-call votes with 2941.
1969Casts crucial vote in opposition to President Nixon's nomination of Clement F. Haynsworth for the Supreme Court.
1970Delivers Second Declaration of Conscience speech in reaction to campus disruptions and antiwar protests.
1972Loses re-election bid for a fifth term in the Senate to Representative William Hathaway.
1973Enters the National Women's Hall of Fame in Seneca Falls,
New York as one of the first twenty inductees.
1973-76Gains appointment as a Visiting Professor from the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation.
1982Dedicates the Margaret Chase Smith Library.
1989Accepts the Presidential Medal of Freedom from President George H. W. Bush at a White House ceremony.
1990Achieves induction to Maine Women's Hall of Fame.
1991Receives her 95th honorary degree from Colby College in Waterville, ME.
1995Passes away on Memorial Day, May 29.
2000Selected as most influential Mainer of the twentieth century.
2005Portrait unveiled at US Capitol.
2007Honored with a US postage stamp.
Biography indexPrograms indexGeneral informationSite map

Copyright ©1999 Margaret Chase Smith Library.
This page last modified: December 2013